Day 10 of #31AuthorsofHalloween – J. D. Brink

About J. D.

J.D. Brink was not a private detective in the 1940s, but he’d like to have been.

Instead he was born in the 1970s, was a kid at the best time ever to be a kid (the ‘80s), and went to college in the ‘90s. Since then he’s become a sailor, spy, nurse, and officer in the U.S. Navy, as well as a gravedigger, insurance adjuster, and school teacher.

Today (Halloween, 2019) he and his family have returned to his native Ohio, where there aren’t enough cheating husbands, missing persons, practicing witches, or hard-boiled mysteries to keep him occupied.

His fictional adventures take place in the Identity Crisis superhero universe, Endless Dark sci-fi universe, and Thunderstrike Sage fantasy realm, to name a few

Synopsis for Mime

Crime-noir meets ghost-horror in this short thriller. 

Mobster thugs Pauli and Mouse come across a street clown late at night who seems to know more than he’s telling. Maybe too much. 

But you know the best thing about killing a mime? No one hears him scream. 

Then again, by the time this story is over, it won’t be him screaming.

The Grit & Shadows Collection:

A vampire-slaying paramedic. A futuristic private detective. An ex-magician turned smuggler. 

This collection includes tales from some of your favorite genres: urban fantasy, crime noir, supernatural mystery, and vampire horror. Take the path to damnation.

Fans of Stephen King, Kim Harrison, and Jim Butcher will be dying to solve the mysteries of this series. Pick up the next volume today. If you dare…  

Waking in the Dark – Four tales of temptation and terror.
Kiss of the Maiden – Five stories of gritty heroes and bloody resolve.
One-Eyed Jacks – A novel of dark urban fantasy, crime noir, and Asian myth.

Review for Mine

I love a good short story. Especially something creepy as Mime. The way the story was written, you can really see play in your head like a movie. You have the typical bad guys who think they are tough and scary enough to get their ways. Then you have a mime, an innocent looking mime, who ends up being the complete opposite. I was dying when he was showing that he is not scared at all, and took on these two guys. Again, if you like short creepy stories, this one did not let me down, and I am sure it won’t for you.

You can follow J. D. Brinks on the following links

Amazon

Goodreads

Facebook

Twitter