Day 1 of #31AuthorsofHalloween: Joshua Graham

Joshua Graham is the New York Times, USA Today, Amazon and Barnes & Noble #1 bestselling thriller author of Beyong Justice, Termius, and Darkroom, the winner of the International Book Award, Forward National Literature Award, USA Book News Best Books Award, and host of Thriller Radio.

Synopsis for The Accidental Exorcist

For Fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Ted Decker, and Frank Peretti

When Forensic psychiatrist Abigail Lee meets a baby-killing mother who has been declared criminally insane and acquitted, she discovers something lurking beneath the surface. Something far deeper and more insidious than mere psychopathy. But can she come to terms with her own struggle with science and faith in time to confront it?

My Review of The Accidental Exorcist

When I read this book, I could not tell if it was a short story, or if I read it too fast (I read it in half a day lol) it was that good. It had me at the edge of my seat and wonder who was a part of the mother. It was raw, dirty, suspenseful, and horrific. I thought this would be one of the first books to add to the beginning of my favorite month.

You can follow Joshua on the following sites:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Day 15 of #31AuthorsofHalloween – Alvin Schwartz

Another author I loved when I was a kid. Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz. I do not want to forget the illustrator for these books, Stephen Gammell. The stories, as well as the grotesque pictures included with each story, are examples of nightmares for children. The first time I read the first book, I was scared at first. After the first few stories, I was okay. Then I went from okay, to loving the stories.

Now, I don’t know what other people think of his other book(s), In a Dark, Dark Room. But, to this day, almost thirty years later, there is still that one story that I still think about to this day. The Green Ribbon. If you have not heard of this story, you will now lol. Basically, you are introduced to this girl, Jenny. Jenny meets boy, Alfred. Alfred is curious about the green ribbon around Jenny’s neck. Of course, Jenny does not tell Alfred. They grow up and get married. Alfred still asks Jenny about the green ribbon. She still does not tell him. They get old, she gets sick. In her death bed, she tells Alfred the reason for the green ribbon. She unties it, and her head falls off. Now, I don’t know about you, but this story has always stuck with me like I mentioned earlier.

And then I hear that Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark is becoming a movie? Holy moly!!! I am super excited about this one. I squealed at work when someone showed me the announcement on it. I am not even sorry for scaring people thinking I was in trouble lol.

You can follow Alvin Schwartz through the following sites:

Amazon

Goodreads

Facebook

Fantastic Fiction