Day 10 of #31AuthorsofHalloween – J. D. Brink

About J. D.

J.D. Brink was not a private detective in the 1940s, but he’d like to have been.

Instead he was born in the 1970s, was a kid at the best time ever to be a kid (the ‘80s), and went to college in the ‘90s. Since then he’s become a sailor, spy, nurse, and officer in the U.S. Navy, as well as a gravedigger, insurance adjuster, and school teacher.

Today (Halloween, 2019) he and his family have returned to his native Ohio, where there aren’t enough cheating husbands, missing persons, practicing witches, or hard-boiled mysteries to keep him occupied.

His fictional adventures take place in the Identity Crisis superhero universe, Endless Dark sci-fi universe, and Thunderstrike Sage fantasy realm, to name a few

Synopsis for Mime

Crime-noir meets ghost-horror in this short thriller. 

Mobster thugs Pauli and Mouse come across a street clown late at night who seems to know more than he’s telling. Maybe too much. 

But you know the best thing about killing a mime? No one hears him scream. 

Then again, by the time this story is over, it won’t be him screaming.

The Grit & Shadows Collection:

A vampire-slaying paramedic. A futuristic private detective. An ex-magician turned smuggler. 

This collection includes tales from some of your favorite genres: urban fantasy, crime noir, supernatural mystery, and vampire horror. Take the path to damnation.

Fans of Stephen King, Kim Harrison, and Jim Butcher will be dying to solve the mysteries of this series. Pick up the next volume today. If you dare…  

Waking in the Dark – Four tales of temptation and terror.
Kiss of the Maiden – Five stories of gritty heroes and bloody resolve.
One-Eyed Jacks – A novel of dark urban fantasy, crime noir, and Asian myth.

Review for Mine

I love a good short story. Especially something creepy as Mime. The way the story was written, you can really see play in your head like a movie. You have the typical bad guys who think they are tough and scary enough to get their ways. Then you have a mime, an innocent looking mime, who ends up being the complete opposite. I was dying when he was showing that he is not scared at all, and took on these two guys. Again, if you like short creepy stories, this one did not let me down, and I am sure it won’t for you.

You can follow J. D. Brinks on the following links

Amazon

Goodreads

Facebook

Twitter

Day 3 of #31AuthorsofHalloween – Rachelle M. N. Shaw

About Rachelle M. N Shaw

An avid reader who has an incurable need to research everything she comes across, Rachelle is an author of paranormal and horror serials as well as the occasional women’s fiction piece. Since scribbling down her first story at the age of eight, her love for language and books has blossomed into a full-time career. She currently works as an independent editor and author while being a stay-at-home mom to her children’s and two rather persnickety cats. When she’s not baking or playing in the snow, you can catch her blogging, tweeting, or plotting her next series

Synopsis for The Eyes That Moved

Kendra Merrick has a knack for spotting unusual trinkets and treasures, and she isn’t afraid of using unconventional—or illegal—methods to obtain them. When she meets Adam, a fellow sleuth and collector, they embark on their biggest adventure yet: the Whitson house. The house is a marvel, and its secrets are even stranger than she imagined.

Kendra stumbles upon the find of a lifetime. But she may have signed on for more than she bargained. There’s a darkness in the house that wasn’t there before, a pair of eyes in every corner, watching, waiting. And Adam isn’t at all who he claimed to be.

In this chilling tale with a unique twist on paranormal horror, one girl learns just how deadly porcelain dolls can be.

Review for The Eyes That Moved

I absolutely loved the book. It almost reminded me of an episode of Charmed. I cannot go into details without giving away the ending of the book. I do find certain dolls creepy, as I have had a few issues with dolls lol. For instance, I hate Cabbage Patch Kids, every time I got one as a gift, it stayed in my closet. I got this doll from church as a gag gift (it has been passed around each year as a joke), and it had a wind-up in its back. That thing would play music and move even though no one touched it. So yeah, I found this book quite creepy. A short story that packs a punch. While walking through the house, you are feeling intense, and when they see the room with the dolls, it gives off a creepy feeling altogether. If you are scared of dolls, but don’t mind a scary story with dolls, I definitely recommend this book!

You can find Rachelle on the following sites:

Amazon

Facebook

Twitter

Tumblr

Goodreads